RIP Paul Walker

On Saturday, November 30th, Paul Walker was killed in a car accident.  He was 40 years old.

He was the passenger in a red 2005 Porsche Carrera GT driven by his friend and business partner, Roger Rodas.

Maybe the last picture of him ever.

Rodas crashed the car into a utility pole, the car ripped in half, caught on fire, and exploded.  Figure-8 tire marks were found on the road and it is clear that the car was going at a very high rate of speed when it crashed.

TMZ was the first to report with this article.  There is a video of the car still on fire and a heart-wrenching interview with an employee that was trying to help before the firefighters got there.

My god, what a disaster.

Paul Walker was best known for his role as Brian O’Conner in the Fast and Furious franchise.  The first Fast and Furious film, The Fast and the Furious, came out in 2001.  I used to watch that movie all the time over my friend’s house.  I was sixteen years old.  No wonder I thought Vin Diesel was bad-ass and Paul Walker was the coolest.  I was the perfect age when that film came out.  I wanted to be race fast cars, get the hot women, and be Vin Diesel’s friend.  More importantly, I wanted to be Paul Walker.

Do you remember the film She’s All That?  I watched that all the time when I was younger.  I think it was on TV a lot.  I still say “It’s going to be a long afternoon of Sega…”

    

I just watched Joy Ride.  Paul Walker, Steve Zahn, and Leelee Sobieski get chased and terrorized by a big rig truck.  It is as funny/awful as it sounds and I completely recommend seeing it.

It is written by J.J. Abrams

Paul Walker was also great in 1998’s Pleasantville and in the very under-rated film The Skulls.

    

I even remember him as Phil Deedle.  I never watched the movie but I sure remember seeing this VHS cover in the rental store when I was a kid.

Classic.

Paul Walker was cool, a good actor, and still a very young man.  My condolences to his family, friends, and fans.

Leave a Reply

