I Didn’t Buy Either: the 2013 Console Wars

Some facts before we begin:

I have both an Xbox 360 and a PS3.
I actually just bought my PS3 early this year.
As the title suggests, I didn’t buy the Xbox One or PS4.

It has been about one week since the Xbox One launched and about two weeks since the launch of the PS4. I have reviewed every single launch title for both systems.

I hate but have to say that I am unimpressed with all the launch titles and have not been compelled at all to purchase either console. There isn’t a single launch title that really has shown me either with its visuals or gameplay the difference between this generation and the next. I want to be convinced why I need a $500 new system for these games, and I am not persuaded.

However, I do understand loving new technology. People seem to be loving both the PS4 and the Xbox One. I was surprised to see how much people have liked the new Kinect, and I liked the first Kinect. I also really like the streaming and recording functions of both consoles. Both interfaces look really sleek, both controllers seem great, and the design of the consoles look fantastic.

I can wait, though.

It makes sense. It actually can make a lot of dollars too.

Why spend at least $500 to get one of the systems right now and a mediocre launch game? Both consoles are going to look the same, their interfaces will stay the same if not improve, better games will be out for both consoles, and the launch titles will be available for cheaper…

…if you can wait.

“But I want it now!”

Take my advice, and just wait. There isn’t a gamer alive that doesn’t have a huge backlog of games to get through. And I’m not talking about really old games. I’m talking about games that came out this year. I’m talking about this last generation.

If you have a PS Plus membership, they are just dumping free games on you every week. I personally can’t catch up. Just in the last six months, through PS Plus I have gotten and played 19 games. Nineteen. Full-priced PS3 games. I don’t have a Vita and if I did that number would be even greater. The service is just incredible and I really can’t say enough great things about it.

Even if you don’t have PS Plus, all the games from this last generation are all really cheap to buy. Playstation 3 in general is really great about bundling their games together. For instance, you can pick up the God of War collection for $30 and that contains all five games in the franchise including God of War 3 and the portable games. Similarly, you can get the Infamous collection for $30 and that comes with both games and all of its DLC. These Playstation collections are an extremely good deal, especially if you haven’t played any of the games in the series before.

“I still want it now!”

When was the last time you replayed a game? Play through Red Dead Redemption again and take your time. Go through the Mass Effect series differently than you did the first time. Fable 2 is still a really good game. The Dead Space trilogy is incredible and worth checking out for the story alone. Similarly, the Gears of War trilogy is great and especially in co-op. Rockstar’s entire catalog is incredible. I love the Skate series. Alice: Madness Returns was really good. I haven’t played the latest Splinter Cell yet.

Do you have a Wii? It doesn’t get any better than Mario Galaxy and Mario Galaxy 2. Dead Space Extraction is surprisingly fun, especially if you like the series. Epic Mickey is a great game. Did you finish Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword? I know I didn’t.

The point is that all of these games you either already own or are dirt cheap to buy and they are really fun.

So just wait a little bit. I promise that you can still have a lot of fun gaming and when it is time to go buy a new console, all the launch games will be cheaper and we can play Watchdogs, the Division, and Titanfall.

Leave a Reply

